News

In the news: April 2021

Publication ethics news April 2021

Each month, COPE Council members find and share publication ethics news. This month the news includes articles on corrections, diversity and inclusion, authorship, and more.

News

COPE authorship workshop February 2021

Online cases workshop for COPE members only

Wednesday 10 February 2021

15:00-16:30pm (GMT); 10.00-11.30am (EST)

Wednesday 24 February 2021

09:00-10:30am (GMT); 17.00-18.30pm (AWST); 20.00-21.30pm (AEDT)

News

A vision for a more trans-inclusive publishing world: guest article

High level principles for name changes in publishing

News

Update on COPE guidance regarding author name changes

Author name changes working group

Case

Paper published without permission or acknowledgement from institution

20-15

An author affiliated with a research institution R published two papers as a single author, one of them in a journal of publisher A. 

News

In the news: September 2020

Each month COPE Council members gather and share publication ethics news. This month the news includes articles on peer review, diversity and inclusivity, research integrity, and more.

Case

Unable to contact authors

20-11

A manuscript was submitted to a journal and after the review and revision process, the submitted manuscript was accepted for publication. During the manuscript revision process, the corresponding author was in contact with the journal: answered all of the emails, performed revisions of the manuscript, prepared answers to the comments of the reviewers, etc.

Case

Authors requesting withdrawal of articles from similarity check database in order to re-publish

20-10

An author's institution requires that authors publish a set amount of times per year in journals that are indexed by Scopus in order to retain their tenure. The author submits to an open access journal and their paper is published after processing charges are paid. After publication the journal is dropped from the Scopus index. The author asks for the paper to be withdrawn by the journal so that they can submit to a different journal that meets their institution’s requirements. 

Case

Author admits failure to credit other authors

20-07

An author submitted a manuscript and stated that he was the sole author. The manuscript received a favourable peer review and eventually was accepted. Some time after the article was published, a co-author told the author to contact the journal to correct the author list. The author of record (AOR) did this and supplied co-author names to the journal.  

Pages