You are here

Peer review processes

All peer review processes must be transparently described and well managed. Journals should provide training for editors and reviewers and have policies on diverse aspects of peer review, especially with respect to adoption of appropriate models of review and processes for handling conflicts of interest, appeals and disputes that may arise in peer review

Our core practices

Core practices are the policies and practices journals and publishers need, to reach the highest standards in publication ethics. We include cases with advice, guidance for day-to-day practice, education modules and events on topical issues, to support journals and publishers fulfil their policies.
News

In the news: September 2018 Digest

Peer review processes

Is there a problem around diversity and inclusion in peer review?
#PeerReviewWeek18
https://twitter.com/PeerRevWeek/status/1031911897149394944

Gender and international diversity improves equity in peer review
https://www.biorxiv.org/content/early/2018/08/29/400515

About this resource

Author Developed by COPE Council
Version 1 September 2017
How to cite this
COPE Council. How to spot potential manipulation of the peer review process (Latin American Spanish). Version 1. 2017 https://doi.org/10.24318/ cope.2019.2.27
Our COPE materials are available to use under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs license
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/
Attribution — You must attribute the work in the manner specified by the author or licensor (but not in any way that suggests that they endorse you or your use of the work).
Non-commercial — You may not use this work for commercial purposes. No Derivative Works —
You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work. We ask that you give full accreditation to COPE with a link to our website: publicationethics.org

Full page history

About this resource

Author Developed by COPE Council
Version 1 August 2018
How to cite this
COPE Council. What to consider when asked to peer review a manuscript (Latin American Spanish). Version 1. 2018. https://doi.org/10.24318/ cope.2019.2.28

Our COPE materials are available to use under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs license
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/
Attribution — You must attribute the work in the manner specified by the author or licensor (but not in any way that suggests that they endorse you or your use of the work).
Non-commercial — You may not use this work for commercial purposes. No Derivative Works —
You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work. We ask that you give full accreditation to COPE with a link to our website: publicationethics.org

Full page history

News

COPE Education Subcommittee focus: Peer Review

Not surprisingly, COPE has substantial resources available regarding peer review and peer review processes are one of our 10 core practices. Peer review comes in many shapes and forms, and the process varies widely among different publications. The fundamental principle of transparency is critical given this variety. COPE asserts that the peer review process must be “transparently described and well managed”.

News

Peer Review Week 2018: new and revised COPE resources

Peer Review Week 2018 offered us an opportunity to consider this year’s theme of Diversity in multiple ways and to reflect on what gaps in our resources might exist. Here is a list of what we reviewed, completed, and revised related to peer review.

News

New: Spanish resources

COPE Resources: Spanish

Spanish translations of COPE resources: flowcharts, ethical guidelines for peer reviewers, How to Spot Manipulation of the Peer Review Process, What to Consider when asked to Peer Review a Manuscript, What Constitutes Authorship? discussion document and our Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing.

News

COPE endorses EASE SAGER guidelines

COPE endorses the Sex and Gender Equity in Research (SAGER) guidelines developed by the European Association of Science Editors (EASE). 

About this resource

Written by COPE Council
Version 2 September 2017
Version 1 March 2013
How to cite this 
COPE Council. COPE Ethical Guidelines for Peer Reviewers (Spanish). Version 2 September 2017 https://doi.org/10.24318/cope.2019.1.10

Our COPE materials are available to use under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs license
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/
Attribution — You must attribute the work in the manner specified by the author or licensor (but not in any way that suggests that they endorse you or your use of the work).
Non-commercial — You may not use this work for commercial purposes. No Derivative Works —
You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work. We ask that you give full accreditation to COPE with a link to our website: publicationethics.org

 

Full page history

  • 20 November 2019

    New category

News

Letter from the COPE co-Chairs: September 2018

#PeerReviewWeek18

Peer Review Week 2018, is here! And the question PRW is asking us all is “What does diversity mean to you?”

Pages